Google+

CSA: Week 2

2

June 9, 2011 by Sara Kreidler

Both the picture and the contents of the CSA box this week are a bit improved.

One of the hazards of a CSA is that occasionally some bugs hitchhike among the greens.  I’ve grown accustomed to searching the heads of lettuce for slugs and such, and while it freaked me out a little at the beginning of last year, it doesn’t bother me anymore.  But today, there was a hitchhiker of a different variety — a huge spider, carrying an egg sack about the size of a golf ball.  I literally covered my mouth to muffle the scream that came out of my mouth because I didn’t want to alarm the kids, who were doing their homework in the next room.  If I were a good hippie and a good step mom, I would have seized the opportunity to show the spider to the kids and then kindly taken the spider outside, unharmed, and freed it.  If I were a good blogger, I would have taken a picture of the spider to include in this post.  But I’m a bad hippie, a bad step-mom, and a bad blogger, and instead I freaked out, attempted to make a protective hand mitt out of aluminum foil, scrapped the foil-mitt plan and eventually used a long spoon to scoop up the spider and egg sack and fling them into the garbage disposal.  And then I had a beer.

Aside from the killer spider, which I hope is very much dead and will not haunt my dreams tonight, this week’s box contains:

  • 2 quarts of strawberries
  • 1 bunch red radishes
  • 1 large bunch of basil (maroon bowl)
  • 1 large bag of mesclun greens (orange bowl)
  • Garlic scapes and assorted fresh herbs (small red bowl)
  • 1 large bunch rhubarb
  • 1 bunch kale
  • 2 heads green leaf lettuce
2 thoughts on “CSA: Week 2

  1. […] ma vie en food cooking, canning & csa-ing Skip to content HomeAbout Me ← CSA: Week 2 […]

  2. […] This week’s box contains a lot of great stuff and, just as importantly, no spiders. […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

