Google+

CSA: Week 6

4

July 7, 2011 by Sara Kreidler

Being on vacation really messed up our CSA schedule; we’ve just started to make a dent in last week’s box, and the new one is already here.  So, I’ll be doing some freezing and canning this week in an effort to get back on track.

This week’s box contains:

  • Broccoli
  • 2 bunches of kale
  • 2 cucumbers
  • Basil
  • 1 bunch of beets
  • 3 zucchini and zucchini blossoms
  • 2 heads of romaine lettuce
  • 1 head of green leaf lettuce
  • Scallions

Some close ups:

Broccoli.

Kale, which I will be blanching and freezing, along with 2 bunches of kale still sitting in the crisper from last week.

Cucumbers.
Basil.
Beets will keep in the fridge for a while, so I have time to devise a plan for these beauties.
The beet greens, which taste a lot like chard, won’t keep long though, so I will be blanching and freezing them alongside the kale for later use.
3 zucchini, one the size of my arm, and another handful of blossoms.  I have a plan in mind tonight for the blossoms, stay tuned for a post on that.
Romaine.
Green leaf lettuce.
Stay tuned for more posts today and tomorrow putting these veggies to use!
4 thoughts on “CSA: Week 6

  1. Jenny says:

    I’ve never frozen kale before. What’s it like when it is defrosted? I vote that you put some of that cucumber in a Hendricks martini. I am covetous of your squash blossoms!

  2. mavieenfood says:

    Jenny, I just posted an entry about freezing kale. https://mavieenfood.wordpress.com/2011/07/07/freezing-kale/. As you will see, you have to cook and blanch it before you freeze it, so when thawed it is much like frozen spinach in terms of texture. Good for adding to soups and stews.

    I think you’re right, Hendrick’s martinis are the prefect use for those cucumbers! I’m going to try a new recipe with the squash blossoms tonight and if it turns out well I will post the recipe and pics tomorrow.

  3. […] ma vie en food cooking, canning & csa-ing Skip to content HomeAbout Me ← CSA: Week 6 […]

  4. […] Posted on July 7, 2011 by mavieenfood We received zucchini blossoms in the CSA box this week, and I wasn’t quite sure what to do with […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

