Google+

Heirloom Tomato Caprese Salad (Updated)

3

August 27, 2011 by Sara Kreidler

This is what summer tastes like.


Tomorrow is my mom’s birthday, so today she and my gram came over for dinner.  My mom requested caprese salad, and who am I to deny her birthday wish?  Plus, this salad is really tasty and easy to make, so everyone wins.  Toby made a huge, awesome dinner (NY strip steaks on the grill, sauteed mushrooms, loaded baked potatoes, corn on the cob and grilled stuffed peppers) and we sent mom and gram home with these beautiful flowers from the farmer’s market (I really love using mason jars in lieu of proper vases).

It’s been about a year since I made this salad (although I did make a pasta salad version earlier this summer).  It tasted just as good as I remembered, but I do notice as I update this post that my photos are improving. Not that the pictures above are going to win any awards for food photography, but compare the shots of the salad above to the one below.

Caprese salad, September 10, 2010.  Still room for improvement on the photography, but definite progress.

Adapted from Everyday Italian by Giada De Laurentiis

Ingredients

  • 1 pound assorted heirloom tomatoes
  • 8 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • Salt and pepper
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 6 large basil leaves

Instructions

  1. Slice the tomatoes about 1/4 inch thick.
  2. Remove the fresh mozzarella from its brine and place on a clean cutting board.  Use a paper towel to pat off some of the excess moisture from the mozzarella. Slice the mozzarella about 1/4 inch thick.
  3. Place alternating layers of sliced tomatoes and mozzarella on a platter.
  4. In a measuring cup, combine lemon juice, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper and olive oil and whisk with a fork until well blended. Drizzle the dressing over the salad.
  5. Place basil leaves one on top of the other and roll into a cigar shape, then cut into thin slices.  Sprinkle the salad with the sliced basil.  Serve with crusty bread.
3 thoughts on “Heirloom Tomato Caprese Salad (Updated)

  1. […] heirloom tomatoes and fresh basil made me think of the caprese salad I made last summer when we were knee deep in tomatoes from the CSA.  I decided to turn it into a […]

  2. […]  I’m eagerly awaiting the italian golds, arkansas travelers, and green zebras we enjoyed last summer, but I am happy to have these ‘maters in the meantime. I’m especially excited about […]

  3. […] few heirloom varieties.  My mom is coming over for her birthday dinner this weekend and requested caprese salad, so these tomatoes will come in […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

