Google+

Christmas Day Recap

3

December 27, 2011 by Sara Kreidler

For Christmas, we received lots of new cooking and canning books, much to our delight!
More books!  I have a soft spot for the spiral bound regional cookbooks that Toby’s mom often gifts us, they have such neat recipes.  We also received new soup bowls and pasta bowls, and several new serving dishes and kitchen gadgets.  I don’t have pictures right this moment because I’ve finally finished washing and finding new homes in the cupboards for the new kitchen loot, and I don’t feel like dragging them back out for a photo shoot right this minute.  Rest assured, though, you will be seeing them in the weeks and months to come filled with good food and posted here for your reading enjoyment.

Photo of new, marvelous camera taken with not so marvelous iPhone camera.

And best of all, Toby surprised me with a new camera!  I LOVE it so much.  I’m still learning how to use it (and did not have time to learn how to use it before I needed to take pictures of the Christmas feast preparations, unfortunately) but I’m feeling really good about our future together.  The macro setting is sweet, and I have way more control than I did on my old camera.

Table setting in progress. Due to the extreme business of the day, most of my Christmas day photos for the blog are at random intervals of doneness and are blurrier than usual. Apologies.

Shortly after unwrapping gifts, Toby and I set to work getting ready for our Christmas day feast.  We had a full house of thirteen hungry family members, and we had a blast.

I don’t think the tree is quite big enough.

Here is a summary of the menu; some of these dishes have previously been posted here (see hyperlinks below) and others are in italics because I haven’t posted them yet, but will be posting them in the next week or so.
Lunch and munch
Dinner
Recipes to follow this week.  Oh, and we’re going to have a new year’s day feast that features the homemade sauerkraut from a while back, and I’ll be posting about that as well.  Stay tuned, kids.
3 thoughts on “Christmas Day Recap

  1. […] we absolutely loved it.  We loved it so much, in fact, we decided to make it again serve it for lunch on Christmas day.  We didn’t realize that this soup is very similar to a soup served at a certain Italian […]

  2. […] I mentioned in an earlier post, we had a full house of 13 loved ones for dinner on Christmas day.  It was a wonderful day, but we […]

  3. […] at our house this year, I cooked for days, and I took absolutely no photos of the food (see also Christmas 2011, for which there are no food photos, and note the complete lack of a post for Christmas 2012, the […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

