Google+

New Year’s Day 2012: Pork and Sauerkraut with Dumplings

5

January 4, 2012 by Sara Kreidler

Pork butt roast.

Happy New Year everyone!  I’ve been preparing for this meal since August when I hacked up some cabbage and set about letting it ferment in the basement for a month.  The finished sauerkraut has been hanging out in the fridge ever since, waiting for the new year.

Homemade sauerkraut at the ready.

We made pork and sauerkraut with dumplings last year too, and I posted about it back when my posting was more haphazard and sometimes didn’t include recipes.  That old post has had a ton of hits over the last week, which is too bad because it’s not a very good post.  Hopefully this post will make up for it and will be helpful to those searching for a pork and sauerkraut with dumplings recipe next year.

Pork and sauerkraut, beginning to cook.

My mom always made pork and sauerkraut on New Year’s Day when I was a kid, but I always refused to eat it.  I thought it stunk.  Now, I love it.

Pork and sauerkraut, almost ready to eat.

The addition of dumplings was new to me until Toby and I started celebrating the new year together.  If you’ve never had them, give them a try — they are great.  We also add them to the top of our beef stew.

Dumplings and sauerkraut.

We served our pork, sauerkraut and dumplings with mashed potatoes, sauteed green beans, and apple sauce.  Here’s hoping this meal will provide us with good luck in 2012!

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 pound pork butt roast
  • Salt and pepper
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 quarts sauerkraut
  • 2 cups hot water
  • 2 cups Bisquick
  • 2/3 cup whole milk

Instructions

  1. Rub the pork roast with salt and pepper.  In a large dutch oven, heat the olive oil over medium high flame.  Brown the pork roast on all sides.   Add sauerkraut and water and bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 2 1/2 hours or until meat is tender.
  2. In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine Bisquick and milk and mix until it becomes a soft dough.  Using a large spoon, drop spoonfuls of dough onto the top of the pork and sauerkraut and cook, uncovered, for 10 minutes.  Cover and cook for another 10 minutes.
5 thoughts on “New Year’s Day 2012: Pork and Sauerkraut with Dumplings

  1. Aimee says:

    Wow!! I have always wanted to make my own sauerkraut and I think you’ve just inspired me to do it. I grew up in PA – a very PA Dutch area of PA – and so pork and sauerkraut (I can still hear the Dutchy accent “sahrr-krott”!) was a staple. Like you, I was not a fan of it as a kid, but now I love it. Bravo on the dumplings as well – great dinner, great job, and great post!

  2. Sara says:

    Thanks Aimee! It really is easy to make sauerkraut, so I definitely encourage you to try it. But make sure to store the sauerkraut in a cool place while it is fermenting. I made a second batch about 8 weeks ago, and I made the mistake of keeping the crocks in the kitchen instead of the basement, and it turned out terrible (got moldy) and I had to throw it out. But my original batch, which I used in this recipe, I kept in the basement for the whole fermentation period and it turned out great. I would also tell you that I thought the sauerkraut tasted even better as leftovers; it got a little tangier (which I prefer) which may have been the result of cooking it and letting it cool (I didn’t boil water bath can the sauerkraut, just kept it in the fridge after it was done fermenting, and I think next time I will just can it to see if that makes a difference in the tanginess quotient straight from the jar). My fiance grew up in central PA which is also very PA Dutch (not sure what part you’re from) so this is a staple for him too! Thanks for the compliments, and let me know how your kraut turns out!

  3. […] planning to start a new batch of sauerkraut tomorrow, since we used up all of our sauerkraut on our New Year’s Day feast (and I’m planning to boil water bath can the sauerkraut this time, so there will be a new […]

  4. Michele says:

    Wow! This sounds like me…My family made this every New Years Day when I was growing up. Hated it as a kid, couldn’t stand the smell, but love it now and have started making it every year myself. This was a recipe that came from my fathers family, who were also from PA (Berwick, Jamison area) I was always told it was from my grandfathers side, who were Hungarian. I am making it today, as I was unable to make it on New years day and thought I would look up the tradition online. This year I am going tot try making the dumplings with a gluten free baking mix. Will see how it comes out. Hopefully won’t be ruined, but will have the bisquick on standby.
    Thank you for sharing this!

  5. Abigail says:

    Is there a recipie for the dumplings without bisquick mix? I’m going to try and make this soon and I’d love to make it with the dumplings too but we don’t have bisquick mix here :S

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

