Google+

Winter CSA: Box 3

2

January 7, 2012 by Sara Kreidler

The winter CSA boxes have turned out to be a real treat.  Between this bi-weekly haul and all of the veggie we put up over the summer, we’re never without great produce.

This week’s box includes:

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 pint of sauerkraut
  • 5 goldrush apples
  • 1 head of green cabbage
  • 1 gallon apple cider
  • Mesclun greens
  • Red skinned potatoes
  • SO much kale
  • 3 turnips
  • Carrots
  • 2 yellow onions
  • 4 portabella mushrooms
And now for some close ups of the goods:

Butternut squash, , and a glimpse of the cabbage on the left (I forgot to take a picture of the cabbage some reason)

Sauerkraut, made by the Kretschmanns. So good.

Goldrush apples. The kids go nuts for these guys.

Cider.

Mesclun greens.

Red skinned potatoes.

Turnips, carrots and onions.

A crazy huge bag of kale.

Portabella mushrooms.

We have some fun meals planned for this week based on this box, including an update (hopefully with a decent picture this time) of the Moroccan Beef Stew with Butternut Squash, and a homemade ravioli post.  And I’m planning to start a new batch of sauerkraut tomorrow, since we used up all of our sauerkraut on our New Year’s Day feast (and I’m planning to boil water bath can the sauerkraut this time, so there will be a new sauerkraut post on that in a few weeks).

2 thoughts on “Winter CSA: Box 3

  1. Aimee says:

    So jealous! We didn’t continue our CSA program through the winter, and I wish now that we had. I lost my job in October, so we just didn’t have the money for it this time around but will resume in the Spring. NEXT winter I’m going to make sure we do it. Your haul is fantastic! Making sauerkraut is on my list, so I’ll be following that. Goldrush apples? Never even heard of them! Are they good for pies?

    • Sara says:

      Thanks Aimee. I’m not sure if the goldrush are good for pies, as I am not much of a baker. I can tell you that they make good applesauce (I don’t waste the really fresh ones on applesauce, but if I have too many to eat and some get a little mushy, I turn them into a quick applesauce and they’re really good that way). They’re very crisp and have a bright, light, sort of sparkly (almost like sparkling cider) flavor. We are huge fans of them. If you see some at a farmer’s market, pick them up, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

