Google+

Dream Big and Leap

6

May 8, 2012 by Sara Kreidler

Still life of my new office

I’m back, again.  For real this time, I promise.  You see, the last few months have been a little bit nuts, and have kept me away from the blog. But there’s other news that I haven’t shared here that has also left me a bit distracted as of late.  I’m about to embark on a major transition; instead of working two full time jobs (full time lawyer by day, full time parent/domestic engineer by night and every weekend) I’m going to scale things back and focus on just one full time job.  The one with the kids and the house.

I have noticed looks of bewilderment on the faces of a number of people with whom I have shared this news recently, and so I will quickly address a few of the things that I think some friends and family may have quietly wondered about.  No, I am not pregnant (and yes, I did notice you oh-so-nonchalantly glancing down at my waist to try to see if there was a bump…there is not one…well maybe there is, but it’s simply due to overeating).  No, I have not lost my mind, and no, my feminist membership card has not been revoked.  Really.

The decision to switch gears and work at home full time is one that Toby and I have been pondering for a while, and for a multitude of reasons the timing is now right for us and our family. And so in a few short weeks, I will make the transition. And I couldn’t possibly be more excited about it.

I realize that to some this seems like an odd choice, to “throw away” a career to “just stay at home.”  I have no interest in advocating for my choice above the alternatives; I wish only that every person were as fortunate as I am to be in a position to choose to spend their day doing the work that makes them most happy and fulfilled, whatever it may be.  When I asked myself what I would do if I could choose a different path than the one I was on, the answer was a no-brainer: stay at home full time to take care of my family and our home. Is Betty Freidan rolling over in her grave?  I would think not — it is thanks in significant part to good old Betty (and a long list of other feminists who have had an enormous impact on my life) that I have the opportunity to make this choice.   Having a choice is pretty damn liberating. And having an incredibly supportive partner is pretty amazing too. I’m ready to dream big and leap.

I’ve been making a lot of lists over the last few weeks, brainstorming and prioritizing the things I want to do after I make this leap on June 15. There are lists of things I want to do with the kids over the summer, lists of chores and home improvements that have been repeatedly back burnered, lists of books to read, recipes to try, new things to can. I’m also toying with the idea of taking a different approach to the weekly CSA posts once our subscription resumes the first week of June.  And there’s been talk in our kitchen of trying to focus on more veggie-centric cooking, and on developing more recipes from scratch rather than adaptations.  Many of these endeavors will be chronicled here.  I hope you’ll join me as this new chapter begins.

6 thoughts on “Dream Big and Leap

  1. Aimee says:

    BRAVO! Congratulations! I think it is fantastic that you have made the choice to leave a job that isn’t fulfilling you. How could spending more time with your family ever be a bad decision? I think it’s really wonderful and I’m sure it will be very rewarding. I hope you won’t have to justify this choice to many people. Law isn’t going away…you can always go back to it if you decide to at some later point in time. I don’t see it as throwing a good career away, I see it as focusing on your family! Many people work too hard at their family’s expense. You are fortunate to not have to do that, and I’m glad you’re taking advantage of the opportunity! I’m sure you won’t regret it, and people who don’t understand your decision right now will come to eventually. 🙂

    • Sara says:

      Thanks so much, Aimee. Lots of people have been really supportive, including the people who are most important to me, which is great. One of the things I’d like to do now that I will have the time is start a garden in my yard, so I’ll be spending some time on your site looking for advice and inspiration!

  2. Jen says:

    Good for you to chose what makes YOU happy!!!

  3. Hilary says:

    I will be so with you as you travel this new road; all the best all the time…

  4. […] know, I’m behind. Again. But as I am about to start my final week of work, I’m confident that this will not be a problem for me much longer. In other news, last year […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

