Google+

CSA 2012: Week 1

1

June 10, 2012 by Sara Kreidler

I know, I’m behind. Again. But as I am about to start my final week of work, I’m confident that this will not be a problem for me much longer. In other news, last year I took a picture of the entire CSA box each week.  You can see the full retrospective here. This year, I’m trying a different approach, and instead I will take a picture of one “featured” item from the box and provide a list of all of the contents.  Then, later in the week, I will provide either a cooking or canning recipe that uses the featured ingredient.  You know, sort of like Sesame Street’s letter of the day (click that link, you won’t regret it; also, Cookie Monster and I are kindred spirits).  Because I am behind by two weeks, I’m going to hit you with 4 posts in the next few days.  Ready?

The first week’s featured CSA item is (drumroll please): rhubarb.

This week’s box includes:

  • Rhubarb
  • Swiss chard
  • Spinach
  • Red leaf lettuce
  • Butter lettuce
  • Mesclun greens
  • Parsley
  • Strawberries
  • Wheat bread

Stay tuned for a savory rhubarb recipe.

One thought on “CSA 2012: Week 1

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

