Google+

Catching My Breath [CSA Salads/Radishes & Butter on Bread]

8

June 5, 2013 by Sara Kreidler

Last week I received emails from WordPress asking me to renew my blog for another year. Coincidentally, in the last few weeks I’ve received notices of a handful of new subscribers to the blog (presumably folks who are googling in preparation for their own CSA boxes and stumbled upon this space), as well as several emails from friends and family asking if I was ever going to start posting again. My last post was in October. Where have I been, you ask?

queen of the picnic table.

queen of the picnic table.

I have been busy chasing after a certain four-legged friend. When last I posted, Dilly was just a fuzzy puppy, maybe 10 pounds, who mostly wanted to nap and snuggle.  Now she is big (almost 50 pounds!) and mostly wants to run around me in circles and chase the turkeys and squirrels in our yard and eat sticks.

IMG_1100

so. many. sticks.

Speaking of yards, we have also been busy selling our old house, buying a new house, and packing and moving and cleaning and painting!  It’s been exhausting, but totally worth it. We moved out of our place in the city in February and moved to the ‘burbs, where we  have a real yard (and a garden that doesn’t get pooped in by alley cats like at our old house), a more practical kitchen and dining room set up, and a larder, courtesy of my husband who continues to put up with my food hoarding tendencies.

our square foot garden.

container and square foot garden.

our new kitchen.

our kitchen, complete with a fancy new range and a window over the sink that looks out to the yard.  i’m in love.

dining room, off of the kitchen.

dining room, off of the kitchen.

cook book nook.

cook book nook.

larder love. impossible to get a good shot because it is a narrow space. looking forward to having full shelves before the snow flies.

larder love. impossible to get a good shot because it is a narrow space. looking forward to having full shelves before the snow flies.

And now with all of that behind me, the CSA season beginning this week, and having just shelled out some cold hard cash to the good people at WordPress to keep this space up and running for another year, I’m happy to announce that I am back. I’ve been cooking all this time, jotting down new recipes and thinking “oh, I have to carve out some time to blog about this” and now I’m ready to get to it.

first csa box dinner, 2013.

first csa box dinner, 2013.

What follows is an un-recipe, really just a rambling description of a throw together, use up what’s in the kitchen meal.  At the start of the CSA season, the quantity of veggies is always a bit daunting. Last night I picked up our first Kretschmann’s CSA box for the 2013 season, and as is always the case with the first few boxes, I am swimming green — chard and spinach, herbs, leaf lettuce, bibb lettuce, and mesclun. We also received two beautiful bunches of radishes and a loaf of seven grain bread.  Radishes are great in salads, of course, and they also make great quick pickles, but my favorite way to eat them is thinly sliced on crusty bread slathered with good butter and sprinkled with sea salt.  I prefer baguette for this, but since I had the fresh loaf of dense brown bread from the CSA, I used what I had on hand. I also made a big salad of mesclun and radishes from the box and assorted other ingredients that were hanging around in the fridge: crumbled goat cheese, pickled beets, pickled peppers, cherry tomatoes (woefully out of season and leaving much to be desired), and some leftover steak. I made a quick vinaigrette — approximately 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar, 1/4 cup olive oil, a couple of small squirts of dijon mustard, a spoonful of honey, and a pinch of fresh thyme combined in a small jar with a tight-fitting lid and shaken vigorously. If you’re a CSA member and are inundated with salad greens this time of year, the best thing you can do to ensure that the greens don’t go to waste is have lots of salad ingredients on hand — pickled veggies, cheese, croutons, seeds and nuts, vinegar and oil. If you’re planning on grilling during the week, throw some extra steak or chicken on the grill, and use it throughout the week to top off your salads.

The CSA box has arrived and the garden is humming along and the windows are open, and I’m so happy to be back to the blog. I have a lot of formatting work to do around here, as well as figuring out what and how I will be posting going forward. Stay tuned, and happy summer to all!

8 thoughts on “Catching My Breath [CSA Salads/Radishes & Butter on Bread]

  1. nbkreidler@gmail.com says:

    🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    So glad your back! I love your blog, I read it over and over all winter. I signed up for this CSA and then afterwards found your blog and felt like it was so helpful in getting me through the winter – I can hardly wait – I get my first box Thursday!!!! I also just started canning so it is great to see what you have done!

    • Sara says:

      Thanks so much, Michelle! I’m so glad that you like the blog. I hope you enjoy the CSA; this is our fourth season with Kretschmann’s and we just love them. Enjoy your first box tomorrow, and let me know what you’re making with your weekly produce — I’d love to swap ideas with a fellow member.

  3. naimavanswol says:

    I was inspired by your blog to subscribe to Kretschmann’s this year and I am very please with it so far. We got a small share and it’s HUGE. Very abundant! Anyway, glad to see you’re back blogging.

    • Sara says:

      Thanks so much! I’m very glad to be back to the blog as well. I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying the CSA. I agree, it is an abundance — and just wait until we are at the height of the summer, when you will be swimming in tomatoes and lots of other good things. Thanks for coming back to the blog after my (too long) hiatus.

  4. […] that were hanging around the kitchen. It took minutes to throw together, and it was delicious. Like I said a few weeks ago, having lots of goodies on hand for big salads is really the way to go for the first 6-8 weeks of […]

  5. […]  As I mentioned in prior posts, I use my pickled hungarian hot wax peppers all year to top off salads, sandwiches, pizza, and hot dogs. I like to add the pickled jalapeños to big pots of chili, and I […]

  6. […] Arugula, pickled beet and goat cheese salad with homemade vinaigrette […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

