Google+

Home Canning Party: Pack a Pint of Pickled Peppers

2

September 11, 2013 by Sara Kreidler

our new kitchen.

come can with me!

You guys, I’ve been canning up a storm the last few weeks (400 pounds of tomatoes, a bushel of beets, a half bushel of hot peppers, 19 quarts of sauerkraut…) and I’m working on a blog post detailing all of the projects I’ve been working on, updating the larder inventory, and offering some canning tips that I’ve learned this year, especially when it comes to large batch canning.

DSCN3213

pickled jalapenos.

Those posts aren’t ready yet, but in the meantime I wanted to let you all know that I am hosting a “home canning party” through the Pittsburgh Canning Exchange on Saturday, September 21st from 1-4 pm at my home. The price of the class is $5, but you will be reimbursed that fee with a $5 gift card to Marty’s Market. The home canning party will consist of a demonstration by yours truly on how to put up pickled peppers. My plan at this point is to teach you how to make simple pickled jalapenos (which are great to use to top nachos and tacos, or to chop up and add to a big pot of chili), and perhaps also a sweet and spicy pickled bell pepper (great for hot dogs, sandwiches, etc), but I’m still trying to figure out how much I can cram into a 3 hour demo, so we’ll see how it goes. Why pickled peppers?  Well, peppers are still in season, and if you’ve never pickled or canned before, pickled peppers are a great gateway project — they are very easy to make and pretty hard to mess up if you make a newbie mistake (cucumber pickles, on the other hand, can become limp and soggy if you process them for too long). In addition to picking peppers, I will be sharing general pickling and canning safety tips and going step by step through the boiling water bath canning process. I will answer your questions. I will provide some snacks and drinks. I will lay out all of my favorite canning cookbooks on my dining room table for you to flip through.  I will probably spill something on myself at some point. I’d love to hang out in my kitchen with you and talk pickles, so please sign up!  Space is limited to 5 people, and there are 3 spots remaining as of today.

If you’re interested in signing up for the demo class, please visit the Pittsburgh Canning Exchange’s website and sign up using their online system. I hope to host future classes, so if you can’t make it to this one, please stay tuned for future information about other classes. Also, please consider signing up for the Pittsburgh Canning Exchange — they are an awesome group of folks, and I’m very excited about working with them.

Hope to see you all soon!

2 thoughts on “Home Canning Party: Pack a Pint of Pickled Peppers

  1. […] home canning party (organized and sponsored by the Pittsburgh Canning Exchange — check them out!) is this […]

  2. […] home canning party was a success!  I hosted a great group of folks who asked lots of good questions and kindly […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

