Google+

Happy Holidays [Christmas Dinner 2013]

Leave a comment

December 26, 2013 by Sara Kreidler

cutting down our tree

cutting down our tree

Happy holidays!  In keeping with tradition, I hosted Christmas dinner at our house this year, I cooked for days, and I took absolutely no photos of the food (see also Christmas 2011, for which there are no food photos, and note the complete lack of a post for Christmas 2012, the year I made a ridiculous amount of manicotti and braised beef sauce while we were in the throes of packing to move to our new house). Sigh.

xmas tree 2013 w presents

Dinner was great and I am swimming in leftovers, as usual. On the bright side, my breakfast this morning consisted of coffee with Bailey’s and a cookie, followed by shrimp cocktail and a bloody mary. Brighter still, I ate my breakfast of champions while setting up my new chromebook!  I’ve been without a laptop for almost two years, and it is so nice to have one again!  Every year Toby surprises me with a much desired but not actually expected gift, and he really outdid himself this year. That guy, he’s a keeper.

In spite of the lack of photos, here is a summary of the Christmas day menu, complete with links to recipes that I’ve posted here previously, and a few links to other sites whose recipes I used this year, with some quick notes on modifications I made.

Lunch & Munch:
  • Butternut squash and chorizo soup (I used this recipe, but I roasted the squash first, and then after the soup was pureed I cooked a pound of fresh chorizo in a separate pan and then added it to the soup, and I served each bowl with a small dollop of sour cream and toasted baguette crisps.  I made this two days ahead and just warmed it up to serve.)
  • Butternut squash & caramelized onion galette (I made the filling and dough 2 days ahead and then assembled and baked it Christmas morning.)
  • Mushroom & bleu cheese galette (I made the filling and dough 2 days ahead and then assembled and baked it Christmas morning.)
  • Shrimp cocktail with extra spicy cocktail sauce (Ketchup + prepared horseradish + chili powder + lime juice, all to taste.)
  • Assorted cheeses and crackers served with tomato jam
  • Assorted pickles (dill, bread & butter, sweet & hot, and dilly beans)
Dinner:
  • Arugula, pickled beet and goat cheese salad with homemade vinaigrette
  • Beef stroganoff (I quadrupled the recipe to serve 13, which included cooking 8 pounds of beef tenderloin which I seared in a very hot pan, then finished in the oven at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes until the internal temperature of the meat was 130 degrees and then allowed to rest for 10 minutes before slicing, which yielded very tender medium-rare meat; in retrospect, I should have just tripled the recipe because and there were crazy leftovers.)
  • Roasted brussels sprouts (cut sprouts in half, toss with a few handfuls of diced onion, drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper and toss until well coated, then put in a baking dish and roast at 375 for about 30 minutes, stirring half way through.)
Dessert:
  • Oatmeal and brown butter chocolate chip cookies (I used this recipe, without the pecans and coconut.)
  • Iced cut out cookies (I used this recipe.)
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

