Google+

Changing Course [Bun in the Oven]

3

August 6, 2014 by Sara Kreidler

To say that my posting here has been sporadic, especially as of late, would be quite an understatement. The last time I posted (February 15 — eesh!) I was starting to train for the NY Marathon in November.  Now, I’m training for a different marathon; the big date is also in November, but the training program is a bit different.

18 wk profile baby

Baby Benjamin at 18 weeks

Yup, there’s a bun in the oven. A boy bun, to be exact. Baby Benjamin is due to make his arrival in mid November, although I have a feeling this turkey will be late and will interrupt Thanksgiving dinner.

16 wks sara

Bump at 16 weeks

photo

Bump at 25 weeks.

So, I haven’t been posting. I spent the spring feeling pretty wretched nearly every day. Once I got through that, I felt much better but still low on energy. And I’ve developed pregnancy induced carpal tunnel in my right hand, which makes cooking, let alone canning, quite difficult. I’ve been cooking a ton nonetheless — and stocking the freezer with ready-to-thaw and eat meals for after the baby arrives — but I haven’t canned a darn thing this season. Big belly + sore back + constant hot flashes + numb hand = a tired mama who just isn’t up for spending hours peeling, chopping, and canning over a hot stove. I’m sure I’ll be back to my old ways in a year or so, but for now, this is just one of many changes afoot in my world.

Which brings me back to this blog. I love this space but I haven’t been spending time here because there’s just too much else going on for me right now.  And I know that’s not going to change any time soon.  So, I’m changing course here and officially signing off for the foreseeable future. As of August 14, the blog’s address will revert back to its long ago original (free) address mavieenfood.wordpress.com (instead of the current, shorter address cookcancsa.com, which is a premium address that I’m not going to continue to pay for since I’m not posting regularly); so if you have this space bookmarked, please change your bookmark to mavieenfood.wordpress.com so that you can still access the archived posts, all of which will continue to be available.

Maybe I will pop in every so often to say hi and share a quick update. Maybe in a year or so I can get back on the regularly timed blogging train, but I’m just going to have to play it by ear.  For now, know that I’m spending a lot of time in the nursery, smiling like a maniac and dreaming about what’s around the corner.

All the best,

Sara

3 thoughts on “Changing Course [Bun in the Oven]

  1. Congratulations! Sorry to hear that the first part of your pregnancy was so difficult, but you’re so resourceful and determined, I’m not surprised that you’ve been preparing meals and doing all you can for when the baby comes. I’m so happy for you. You are a fabulous mom! Best wishes to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

