Google+

Fresh Corn Tacos with Zucchini Slaw

1

July 28, 2011 by Sara

Oh my, these are good.  Really, really good.
It’s corn season, and this is a great way to eat fresh corn.  The original recipe called for charred corn, and although I’m a huge fan of corn that is charred on the grill, we didn’t have time for that tonight.  Boiled corn worked just fine, but I’m sure charred would be great too.  The key is using fresh corn — I do not think that frozen or canned corn would work well here.
You can add other goodies to these tacos — sour cream, avocado, hot sauce, salsa — but I ate mine as pictured and was very happy with the flavor.  I served the tacos with sides of homemade refried beans and mexican rice, but neither recipe is quite ready for prime time; I think I know what I’ll do differently next time (more salt and seasonings) and will post the recipes when they’re perfected.  In the meantime, enjoy these summer tacos with your favorite beans and rice, or just pig out on the tacos by themselves.  

A side note; if you’re wondering why these pictures aren’t as nice as the pictures in my last post (where I mentioned by new “umbrella lamp”), I put the lamp away after I finished taking the CSA pictures tonight and before making dinner, and when dinner was ready I forgot to get the light when I snapped the pictures.  I promise to do better next time.

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 2 limes
  • Salt
  • 10 small (6-inch) flour tortillas
  • 4 ears corn, husks removed
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium white onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 3 tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 2 ripe tomatoes, diced
  • Fresh cilantro sprigs for garnish
Instructions
  1. Use a julienne peeler to cut zucchini into long, thin strips, then cut the strips in half.  Cut 1 lime in half and squeeze half of the lime over the zucchini and season with salt. Set zucchini aside to marinate.  Use the remaining half of the lime in a beverage of your choosing (might I suggest this one?).
  2. Preheat oven to 250 degrees.  Wrap the stack of tortillas in foil and warm in the oven for 15 minutes.
  3. Fill a stock pot half way with water and bring to a boil.  Add corn and cook for 4-5 minutes.  Remove corn from pot, drain and cool.  Cut kernels off of the cobs and set aside.
  4. Heat oil and butter in a large cast iron skillet over medium flame. Add onion and cook until soft.  Add garlic and cook for 1 minute.  Add corn kernels and cook for 2 minutes.  Juice 1 whole lime over the corn.  Add salt, chili powder, and chopped cilantro and mix well.  Remove pan from heat.
  5. Remove tortillas from oven.  Fill each tortilla with the corn mixture and zucchini slaw.  Top with crumbled feta, diced tomatoes and fresh cilantro sprigs and serve.

One thought on “Fresh Corn Tacos with Zucchini Slaw

  1. […] ma vie en food cooking, canning & csa-ing Skip to content HomeAbout MeCooking IndexCanning InventoryCSA Inventory ← CSA: Week 8 Fresh Corn Tacos with Zucchini Slaw → […]

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives